Find an event Volunteer Take Part
Join Labour Take Action


How We Work

National Executive Committee

The committees of the NEC

The National Executive Committee also splits into several smaller committees, who take care of a particular area of work.

Roles and Responsibilities of the NEC Committees

NEC Officers

The Officers of the National Executive Committee are:

  • Leader of the Labour Party
  • Deputy Leader of the Labour Party
  • Chair of the NEC
  • Vice Chair of the NEC
  • Treasurer
  • Chair of the NEC Organisation Sub-Committee
  • Chair of the NEC Complaints and Disciplinary Sub-Committee
  • Chair of the NEC Equalities Committee
  • JPC Co-Convenor
  • Chair of the National Policy Forum (when a member of the NEC)
  • General Secretary (without voting rights)

Joint Committees

NEC Joint Committees comprise those committees that are made up of NEC members, government and other members as detailed below.

Joint Policy Committee

The JPC has strategic oversight of policy development in the party through overseeing the rolling programme of Partnership in Power. The JPC acts as the steering group for the National Policy Forum. It is therefore a joint committee made up of NEC, Government and National Policy Forum representatives. NEC Co-convenor: Gavin Sibthorpe

NEC Sub-Committees

The following are sub-committees of the NEC.

Equalities Committee

The Equalities Committee roles and responsibilities include:

  • Women’s recruitment, retention and participation in the Party in elected office and the development of women’s forums at local level
  • Black, Asian and ethnic minority recruitment, retention and participation in the Party
  • Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender representation and participation within the Party
  • Disability access and increased representation and participation of members with disabilities
  • Considering effective Party responses to Employment Framework Directive based on Article 13 (Treaty on European Union) and the European Union Action Programme to Combat Discrimination
  • Responsibility for driving the Party’s equality agenda and the development of an inclusive organisation at all levels
  • Link with Organisation Committee and Young Labour Co-ordinating Committee on issues of age discrimination
  • Biannual women’s forum
  • Biannual ethnic minorities forum

Chair: James Asser

Business Board

The Business Board is responsible for overseeing the business functions of the organisation including the management of the finances. Chair: Diana Holland

Audit, Risk Management and Compliance Committee

The Audit, Risk Management and Compliance Committee has responsibility for audit and compliance oversight, and is accountable for internal audit procedures providing a systematic approach to risk management in all of the Party’s activities. The Committee ensures that the Labour Party’s financial activities are within the law, and that an effective system of internal control is maintained. Chair: George Howarth MP

Organisation Committee

The Organisation Committee is responsible for party rules and constitution; ensuring parties are operating effectively throughout the country to the highest standards and has overall responsibility for membership, investigations, selections, Conferences, electoral law, boundaries strategy and internal elections. Chair: Wendy Nichols

Complaints and Disciplinary Sub-Committee

The NEC Complaints and Disciplinary Sub-Committee is a panel of the NEC Organisation Committee and is responsible for oversight and scrutiny of complaints and disputes processes in full, hearing membership appeals, re-admission applications, Labour Party disputes and conciliation; minor investigations and local government appeals (where referred to the NEC). Chair: Gurinder Singh Josan

Up next

How We Work

Get the latest from Labour

There was an error with your submission. Please try again later.