Vote Labour on 4 July

Help us win

Members of the NEC


The National Executive Committee (NEC) is the National Executive Committee of the Labour Party. The primary purpose of the NEC is to provide strategic direction for the Party as a whole and to work in partnership with the Party’s representatives in Parliament, the devolved administrations and local government to secure the Party’s objectives across the country. It is made up of representatives from each section of the Party – the Shadow Cabinet, MPs, councillors, trade unions, Socialist Societies, Constituency Labour Parties (CLPs), Young Labour and BAME Labour. NEC members are elected by their respective constituencies, and each serves a two-year term.

Members of the NEC

The NEC is structured so as to represent all key stakeholders in the Party.

Chair: James Asser
Vice Chair: Ellie Reeves MP
Leader: Sir Keir Starmer MP
Deputy Leader: Angela Rayner MP
Treasurer: Mike Payne
Shadow Frontbench: Anneliese Dodds MP
Shadow Frontbench: Ellie Reeves MP
Shadow Frontbench: Shabana Mahmood MP
Shadow Scottish Frontbench: Jackie Baillie MSP
Welsh Labour Representative: Carwyn Jones MS
Young Labour: Elsie Greenwood
Disabled Members: Ellen Morrison
BAME Labour: Carol Sewell
Div. I – Trade Unions: Mark Ferguson (Unison)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Nicola Jukes (TSSA)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Isabelle Gutierrez (Musicians’ Union)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Michael Wheeler (USDAW)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Wendy Nichols (Unison)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Andy Kerr (CWU)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Gavin Sibthorpe (GMB)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Mary Williams (UNITE)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Kathy Abu-Bakir (GMB)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Ian Murray (FBU)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Mick Whelan (ASLEF)
Div. I – Trade Unions: Joanne Thomas (USDAW)
Div. I – Trade Unions: David Agbley (UNITE)
Div. II – Socialist Societies: James Asser
Div. III – CLPs: Johanna Baxter
Div. III – CLPs: Jessica Barnard
Div. III – CLPs: Yasmine Dar
Div. III – CLPs: Luke Akehurst
Div. III – CLPs: Ann Black
Div. III – CLPs: Gurinder Singh Josan
Div. III – CLPs: Abdi Duale
Div. III – CLPs: Gemma Bolton
Div. III – CLPs: Mish Rahman
Div. IV – Labour Councillors: Nesil Caliskan
Div. IV – Labour Councillors: Tudor Evans
Div. V – PLP: Sir George Howarth MP
Div. V – PLP: Dame Margaret Beckett MP
Div. V – PLP: Dame Angela Eagle MP

In addition, the General Secretary (David Evans), the PLP Shadow Chief Whip (Alan Campbell MP), and PLP Chair (John Cryer MP) attend ex officio without a vote.