Find an event Volunteer Labour's Shop
Join Labour Take Action


How We Work

Members of the NEC

Who's on the NEC?

Find out more about our National Executive Committee and its members.


The NEC is the National Executive Committee of the Labour Party. The primary purpose of the NEC is to provide strategic direction for the Party as a whole and to work in partnership with the Party’s representatives in Parliament, the European Parliament, devolved administrations and local government to secure the Party’s objectives across the country.

It is made up of representatives from each section of the Party – the Shadow Cabinet, MPs, MEPs, councillors, trade unions, Socialist Societies, Constituency Labour Parties (CLPs), Young Labour and BAME Labour.

NEC members are elected by their respective constituencies, and each serve a two year term.

Members of the NEC

The NEC is structured so as to represent all key stakeholders in the Party.

Chair: Andy Kerr

Vice Chair: Wendy Nichols

Leader: Jeremy Corbyn MP

Deputy Leader: Tom Watson MP

Treasurer: Diana Holland

Shadow Frontbench: Jon Trickett MP

Shadow Frontbench: Rebecca Long-Bailey MP

Shadow Frontbench: Kate Osamor MP

Shadow Scottish Frontbench: Richard Leonard MSP

Welsh Government Frontbench: Alun Davies AM

EPLP Leader: Richard Corbett MEP

Young Labour: Lara McNeill

BAME Labour: Keith Vaz MP

Div. I – Trade Unions: Keith Birch (Unison)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Jim Kennedy (Unite)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Andi Fox (TSSA)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Pauline McCarthy (Bakers)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Paddy Lillis (Usdaw)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Wendy Nichols (Unison)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Andy Kerr (CWU)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Sarah Owen (GMB)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Currently unfilled (UNITE)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Cath Speight (GMB)

Div.I – Trade Unions: Ian Murray (FBU)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Mick Whelan (ASLEF)

Div. I – Trade Unions: Joanne Cairns (USDAW)

Div. II – Socialist Societies: James Asser

Div. III – CLPs: Ann Black

Div. III – CLPs: Yasmin Dar

Div. III – CLPs: Rachel Garnham

Div. III – CLPs: Jon Lansman

Div. III – CLPs: Eddie Izzard

Div. III – CLPs: Claudia Webbe

Div. III – CLPs: Darren Williams

Div. III – CLPs: Pete Willsman

Div. III – CLPs: Rhea Wolfson

Div. IV – Labour Councillors: Nick Forbes

Div. IV – Labour Councillors: Alice Perry

Div. V – PLP/EPLP: George Howarth MP

Div. V – PLP/EPLP: Margaret Beckett MP

Div. V – PLP/EPLP: Shabana Mahmood MP

In addition, the PLP Shadow Chief Whip (Nick Brown MP), and PLP Chair (John Cryer MP) attend ex-officio without a vote.

Up next

Other committees of the NEC

For the many, not the few

Get the latest from Labour