Friday 14 May 2021 / 7:05 PM Labour Press

Appointments to Labour’s Frontbench

Keir Starmer has today made appointments to his frontbench team.


A full list of Labour’s frontbench team follows:




Keir Starmer

PPS: Sharon Hodgson


Deputy Leader, Shadow First Secretary of State, Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Shadow Secretary of State for the Future of Work

Angela Rayner

Shadow Secretary of State for Employment Rights and Protections: Andy McDonald

Imran Hussain

PPS: Flo Eshalomi


Party Chair & Chair of Labour Policy Review

Anneliese Dodds


National Campaign Coordinator

Shabana Mahmood



Shadow Chancellor: Rachel Reeves

Shadow Chief Secretary: Bridget Phillipson

James Murray (Financial Secretary)

Pat McFadden (Economic Secretary)

Abena Oppong-Asare (Exchequer Secretary)


Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Shadow Foreign Secretary: Lisa Nandy

Wayne David (Middle East and North Africa)

Stephen Doughty (Africa – joint with DFID)

Stephen Kinnock (Asia and Pacific)

Catherine West (Europe & Americas)

Fabian Hamilton (Peace and Disarmament)


Home Office 

Shadow Home Secretary: Nick Thomas-Symonds

Holly Lynch (Crime reduction & courts – joint with Justice)

Sarah Jones (Policing and the Fire Service)

Bambos Charalambous (Immigration)

Conor McGinn (Security)

Jess Phillips (Domestic Violence and Safeguarding)


Cabinet Office 

Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Angela Rayner

Democracy and Young People: Cat Smith

Jack Dromey (Shadow Paymaster General)

Fleur Anderson (Shadow Parliamentary Secretary)


Ministry of Justice

Shadow Justice Secretary: David Lammy

Lyn Brown (Prisons and Probation)

Alex Cunningham (Courts and sentencing)

Anna McMorrin (Victims and Youth Justice)

Karl Turner (Legal Aid)


Ministry of Defence

Shadow Secretary of State for Defence: John Healey

Steph Peacock (Veterans)

Stephen Morgan (Armed Forces)

Chris Evans (Procurement)


Health and Social Care

Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care: Jonathan Ashworth 

Mental Health: Rosena Allin-Khan 

Liz Kendall (Social Care)

Justin Madders (Secondary Care, Workforce and Patient Health)

Alex Norris (Public Health)


Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Shadow Secretary of State for BEIS: Ed Miliband

Chi Onwurah (Science, Research & Digital – joint with DCMS)

Matthew Pennycook (Climate change)

Seema Malhotra (Business and Consumers)

Alan Whitehead (Green New Deal and Energy)


Work and Pensions

Shadow Secretary of State for Work & Pensions: Jonathan Reynolds

Matt Rodda (Pensions)

Vicky Foxcroft (Disability)

Karen Buck (Social Security)

Andy McDonald (Employment – joint with Future of Work)


International Trade

Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade: Emily Thornberry

Bill Esterson

Gareth Thomas



Shadow Education Secretary: Kate Green 

Peter Kyle (Schools)

Matt Western (Universities)

Toby Perkins (Apprenticeships & life-long learning)

Tulip Siddiq (Children & Early Years)


Child Poverty Strategy

Wes Streeting


Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)

Shadow Secretary of State for DCMS: Jo Stevens

Rachael Maskell (Voluntary Sector & Charities)

Chris Matheson (Media)

Alison McGovern (Cultural Industries & Sport)

Chi Onwurah (Digital – joint with BEIS)

Alex Sobel (Tourism & Heritage)


Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)

Shadow DEFRA Secretary: Luke Pollard

Luke Pollard (Fisheries)

Ruth Jones (Natural Environment & Air Quality)

Olivia Blake (Nature, Water and Flooding)

Daniel Zeichner (Farming, Food and Rural Affairs)


Housing, Communities and Local Government (HCLG)

Shadow CLG Secretary: Steve Reed

Shadow Housing Secretary: Lucy Powell

Mike Amesbury (Housing)

Ruth Cadbury (Planning)

Jeff Smith (Local Government)

Naz Shah (Community Cohesion)



Shadow Transport Secretary: Jim McMahon

Tan Dhesi (Railways)

Mike Kane (Aviation & Maritime)

Kerry McCarthy (Green transport)

Sam Tarry (Buses & Local Transport)


International Development

Shadow DfID Secretary: Preet Gil

Stephen Doughty (Joint with FCO)

Yasmin Qureshi


Northern Ireland

Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary: Louise Haigh

Alex Davies-Jones



Shadow Wales Secretary: Nia Griffith

Gerald Jones



Shadow Scotland Secretary: Ian Murray

Chris Elmore (Joint with Whips Office)


Women & Equalities 

Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary: Marsha de Cordova

Charlotte Nichols


Leader of the House of Commons

Shadow Leader of the House of Commons: Thangam Debbonaire

Deputy Leader of the House of Commons: Afzal Khan


House of Lords Leadership

Shadow Leader of the House of Lords: Rt Hon Baroness (Angela) Smith of Basildon

Chief Whip Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

Deputy Shadow Leader of the House of Lords: Baroness (Dianne) Hayter of Kentish Town


Attorney General

Rt Hon Lord (Charlie) Falconer of Thoroton

Solicitor General: Ellie Reeves


Whips Office

Chief Whip: Alan Campbell

Deputy Chief Whip (Legislation): Lilian Greenwood

Deputy Chief Whip (Accommodation and Pairing): Mark Tami

Shadow Vice Chamberlain of HM Household: Jessica Morden



Shadow Lord Commissioner of HM Household (Senior Whip):

Chris Elmore (joint with Scotland)

Colleen Fletcher

Liz Twist



Mary Glindon

Marie Rimmer

Gill Furniss

Feryal Clark

Sarah Owen