Thursday 9 April 2020 / 5:43 PM Keir Starmer

Keir Starmer appoints Labour frontbench

Keir Starmer has today appointed his new frontbench team.

Keir Starmer, Leader of the Labour Party, said:

“This is a new team that will take the Labour Party forward in a new era. Under my leadership, the Labour Party will be utterly focused on working in the national interest, rebuilding people’s trust in our party and winning the next election.”

Keir Starmer has appointed Angela Rayner as Shadow First Secretary of State. She will also deputise for him at Prime Minister’s Questions and in other key functions.


Notes to editors

Party roles and parliamentary private secretaries will be appointed in due course.

Leader: Keir Starmer
PPS: Carolyn Harris

Deputy Leader, National Campaign Co-ordinator, Party Chair and Shadow First Secretary of State: Angela Rayner

Shadow Chancellor: Anneliese Dodds
Shadow Chief Secretary: Bridget Phillipson
• Dan Carden (Financial Secretary)
• Pat McFadden (Economic Secretary)
• Wes Streeting (Exchequer Secretary)

Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Shadow Foreign Secretary: Lisa Nandy
• Wayne David (Middle East and North Africa)
• Stephen Doughty (Africa – joint with DFID)
• Stephen Kinnock (Asia and Pacific)
• Catherine West (Europe & Americas)
• Fabian Hamilton (Peace and Disarmament)

Home Office
Shadow Home Secretary: Nick Thomas-Symonds
• Bambos Charalambous (Crime reduction and courts)
• Sarah Jones (Policing and the Fire Service)
• Holly Lynch (Immigration)
• Conor McGinn (Security)
• Jess Phillips (Domestic Violence and Safeguarding)

Cabinet Office
Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Rachel Reeves
Young People and Voter Engagement: Cat Smith
• Paul Blomfield (Brexit and EU negotiations, joint with Int Trade)
• Helen Hayes (Cabinet Office)

Ministry of Justice
Shadow Justice Secretary: David Lammy
• Lyn Brown (Prisons and Probation)
• Alex Cunningham (Courts and sentencing)
• Peter Kyle (Victims and Youth Justice)
• Karl Turner (Legal Aid)

Ministry of Defence
Shadow Secretary of State for Defence: John Healey
• Sharon Hodgson (Veterans)
• Stephen Morgan (Armed Forces)
• Khalid Mahmood (Procurement)

Health and Social Care
Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care: Jonathan Ashworth
Mental Health: Rosena Allin-Khan
• Liz Kendall (Social Care)
• Justin Madders (Public Health and prevention)
• Alex Norris (Public Health and patient safety)

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Shadow Secretary of State for BEIS: Ed Miliband
• Chi Onwurah (Science, Research & Digital – joint with DCMS)
• Matthew Pennycook (Climate change)
• Lucy Powell (Business and Consumers)
• Alan Whitehead (Green New Deal and Energy)

Work and Pensions
Shadow Secretary of State for Work & Pensions: Jonathan Reynolds
• Jack Dromey (Pensions)
• Vicky Foxcroft (Disability)
• Kate Green (Child Poverty Strategy)
• Seema Malhotra (Employment)

International Trade
Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade: Emily Thornberry
• Paul Blomfield (Joint with CDL)
• Bill Esterson
• Gareth Thomas

Shadow Education Secretary: Rebecca Long Bailey
• Margaret Greenwood (Schools)
• Emma Hardy (FE & Universities)
• Toby Perkins (Apprenticeships & life-long learning)
• Tulip Siddiq (Children & Early Years)

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS)
Shadow Secretary of State for DCMS: Jo Stevens
• Tracy Brabin (Cultural Industries)
• Rachel Maskell (Voluntary Sector & Charities)
• Chris Matheson (Media)
• Alison McGovern (Sport)
• Chi Onwurah (Digital, joint with BEIS)
• Alex Sobel (Tourism & Heritage)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)
Shadow DEFRA Secretary: Luke Pollard
• Steph Peacock (Flooding)
• Lloyd Russell-Moyle (Natural Environment & Air Quality)
• Daniel Zeichner (Food, Farming and Fisheries)

Communities and Local Government (CLG)
Shadow CLG Secretary: Steve Reed
Shadow Housing Secretary: Thangam Debbonaire
• Mike Amesbury (Housing and Planning)
• Janet Daby (Faiths)
• Kate Hollern (Local Government)
• Naz Shah (Community Cohesion)

Shadow Transport Secretary: Jim McMahon
• Tan Dhesi (Railways)
• Mike Kane (Regional Transport)
• Kerry McCarthy (Green transport and aviation)
• Matt Rodda (Buses)

International Development (DfID)
Shadow DfID Secretary: Preet Gill
• Stephen Doughty (Joint with FCO)
• Anna McMorrin
• Yasmin Qureshi

Northern Ireland
Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary (interim): Louise Haigh
Ministers: Karin Smyth

Shadow Wales Secretary: Nia Griffith
Ministers: Gerald Jones

Shadow Scotland Secretary: Ian Murray
Ministers: Chris Elmore (joint with whips office)

Women & Equalities
Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary: Marsha de Cordova
Ministers: Gill Furness

Employment Rights and Protections
Shadow Employment Rights and Protections Secretary: Andy McDonald
Ministers: Imran Hussain

Leader of the House of Commons
Shadow Leader of the House of Commons: Valerie Vaz
Deputy Leader of the House of Commons: Afzal Khan

House of Lords:
Shadow Leader of the House of Lords: Baroness Smith
Lords’ Opposition Chief Whip: Lord McAvoy

Attorney General: Lord Falconer
Solicitor General: Ellie Reeves

Whips Office
Chief Whip: Nick Brown
Deputy Chief Whip: Alan Campbell
Pairing Whip: Mark Tami
Senior Whip: Jessica Morden